Saturday, August 28, 2010

New Indian Currency Symbol

The Indian rupee (Hindi: रुपया) (sign: Indian Rupee; code: INR) is the official currency of India. The issuance of the currency is controlled by the Reserve Bank of India.
The modern rupee is subdivided into 100 paise (singular paisa). The coins have nominal values of 5, 10, 20, 25 and 50 paise as well as 1, 2, 5 and 10 rupees. The bank notes are available in nominal values of 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 500 and 1000 rupees. The Indian rupee symbol (Indian Rupee symbol.svg) is an amalgam of both the Devanagari consonant "" (Ra) and the Latin letter "R" without the vertical bar. The design was presented to the public by the government of India on 15 July 2010. Previously, the abbreviation Rs. was used and the Indian rupee did not have a symbol of its own.

Latest Image of new Indian coins with the new currency symbol on it.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...